Recipe: REAL Pumpkin Pie

img_6241For me, pumpkin pie is comfort food to the max.  So many happy holiday memories, smells and flavors.  This year, I took the plunge and attempted a pumpkin pie made out of a real pumpkin.  Now, don’t get me wrong…. I love the canned pumpkin puree.  So handy & versatile!  But, I wanted to finally try a pumpkin pie from scratch.  (Disclaimer – I used a pre-made frozen crust from Trader Joe’s, so I guess ‘scratch’ is debatable).

I cooked two pie pumpkins in my crockpot.  I cut them in half, scooped out the seeds (which I promptly planted in all of my patio pots – that’s a lot of P’s!), and placed the pumpkin halves in the crockpot.  Cooked on low until the flesh was nice and soft, about 5-6 hours.

img_6243

After the pumpkin was cooled enough to handle, I simply scooped the pumpkin into an airtight container and refrigerated for a couple of days.  I didn’t have time to make the pie for a few days, so it was nice to be able to just store it until I was ready to use it.

Then, I followed a traditional pumpkin pie recipe and made the pie.  Funny, but the color wasn’t as rich orange-brown as when using the canned pumpkin puree.  But, the texture was thicker with the fibrous pumpkin flesh.

Here is my final result.  Verdict:  Very Flavorful and Rich!  I didn’t find it much additional work, truthfully, and the taste was worth any additional minor effort.  I would definitely prepare with this method for future pies!

img_6372

Recipe: Traditional Pumpkin Pie

Ingredients

  • 1 pie crust
  • 2 cups pumpkin puree
  • 1 can evaporated milk
  • 2 eggs
  • 3/4 cup white sugar
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground nutmeg
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cloves
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground ginger
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  1. Preheat oven to 425 F.
  2. In a large bowl, combine pumpkin, milk, eggs, sugar, spices and salt.  Pour into pie crust.  Sprinkle more cinnamon on top & swirl with a knife.
  3. Bake 15 minutes at 425 F.  Reduce heat to 350 F and continue baking 35-40 minutes, until knife inserted in center of pie comes out clean.
  4. Cool completely before cutting.

 

 

 

Author: drjennbowersnutrition

Dr. Bowers is a Registered Dietitian Nutritionist with 25 years of experience in clinical nutrition, education and health promotion. Her down-to-earth philosophy is "All foods can fit!"

1 thought on “Recipe: REAL Pumpkin Pie”

Leave a Reply

